The New Mexico Association for Infant Mental Health (NMAIMH) supports healthy development for all infants and young children in New Mexico by providing specialized training and endorsement.


NMAIMH provides a forum for interdisciplinary collaboration by advocating for the application of infant mental health principles in services for infants, young children, and caregivers.


NMAIMH works to facilitate, support, and encourage cooperation, coordination, and collaboration among those concerned with promoting the optimal development of infants, toddlers, and families.


Collaborative relationships form the heart of the NMAIMH. Current collaborations include:

  • The NMAIMH is an Affiliate of the World Association for Infant Mental Health ( and a Member of Consortium of U.S. WAIMH Affilliates

  • NMAIMH is a Founding Partner of the Alliance (formerly the League of States). For more information regarding the Alliance for the Advancement of Infant Mental Health™, please click here.

  • Member of the Alliance for the Advancement of Infant Mental Health®.  The Alliance is a global organization that includes 26 states and one international association whose infant mental health associations have licensed the use of the Competency Guidelines® and Endorsement for Culturally Sensitive, Relationship-Focused Practice Promoting Infant Mental Health® under their associations’ names. For more information, go to


Click here to Access our minutes archive.

NMAIMH History

At the invitation of the NM Department of Health and the Children, Youth and Families Department, the New Mexico Infant Mental Health Collaborative Committee formed in 2001. The committee included state agency staff, as well as participants from two- and four-year institutions of higher education, early care and education, health care, mental health, early intervention, public schools, Head Start, parent advocacy, and other fields.  This diverse committee met throughout 2002 and developed a Strategic Plan for Infant Mental Health in New Mexico. The strategic plan was published and presented to the NM legislature in January, 2003. The plan offers a systematic approach to a healthier future for New Mexico’s infants and their families. The committee chose to form a non-profit organization to guide the implementation of the strategic plan. The New Mexico Association for Infant Mental Health (NMAIMH), a 501(c)(3), private, non-profit, professional membership organization, incorporated in 2004 and was granted non-profit status in 2006.

Please read our Annual Report for 2018 for information about our recent accomplishments.

Board of Directors

Officers/Executive Committee

Board of Directors & NMAIMH Staff

Policies of NMAIMH are established by a volunteer Board of Directors, that controls and manages the policies, property, affairs, and funds of the organization; determines compliance with NMAIMH’s stated purposes; and fills vacancies among the officers who are elected by the Board.

Elected Directors serve two-year terms. Terms begin January 1 and end on December 31 of the following year.  The New Mexico Association for Infant Mental Health elects new Directors to our Board each December. We look for committed individuals who are interested in contributing to the NMAIMH mission as active board members. Following a nomination process that results in a slate of candidates that address Board priorities regarding diverse membership, a slate of nominees are sent out to the membership for election. Nominations for Director-candidates are sought through the NMAIMH members’ listserv. 

Contact us if you are interested in learning more about serving on the Board of Directors.


The NMAIMH activities are accomplished through the volunteer support of committees that are appointed by the Board of Directors. Directors, as well as NMAIMH members, serve on committees. Contact us for more information about serving on a committee.

Standing Committees

  • Executive/Financial Committee – Ruth Ortiz, Chair

  • Membership/Nominating Committee – Jonetta Pacias, Co-Chair & Carolyn A. Newman, Co-Chair

Current Special Committees

  • Endorsement – Inez Ingle, Chair

  • Promotion/Training/Website – Ruth Ortiz, Chair

  • Grant & Sustainability - Jeannie Ross, Chair